Musée Matisse
“Matisse. Music at work”

Henri Matisse - The Sorrows of the King, 1952
Cut-out gouached paper, 292 x 386 cm - © Estate of H. Matisse
Photo: Centre Georges Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

A word from the general curator

“I am a most enthusiastic supporter of the project of Marie-Thérèse Pulvénis de Seligny to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the Musée Matisse by presenting the exhibition “Matisse. Music at work”. Music is indeed one of the recurrent iconographic themes in the work of Henri Matisse. As for his musicality, it is for us to show in the exhibition its subtle manifestations. I would like to thank those who have agreed to support this wonderful project by loaning works, in particular the Centre Pompidou-Musée National d’Art Moderne which agreed, exceptionally, to loan The Sorrows of the King, a work in which I have always seen a sort of modern reflection of Domenichino’s King David Playing the Harp which hung in the bedroom of Louis XIV, a great king who, like David, loved music and knew that he was always a sinner, always repentant, always forgiven…”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon

Presentation by the curator of the exhibition

On the occasion of its fiftieth anniversary, the Musée Matisse presents the exhibition “Matisse.
Music at work”, a theme which runs throughout the painter’s work and is closely linked to his presence in Nice. This subject enables homage to be paid to the painter’s family whose successive donations led to the creation of the museum in 1963.
“Music and colour are certainly quite different, yet they follow parallel routes”. Notes and colours result from the same seeking after expression. Matisse refers to music to evoke his compositions, themes, rhythms, variations, harmony of colours.
The exhibition is organised in two parts:
- the silence of music recalls the intimate link between Matisse and music and the different ways in which he represents it in his work;
- the sound of colour illustrates the correspondence the painter perceives between colour and sound.
The prestigious loan of The Sorrows of the King (1952) granted exceptionally by the Centre Pompidou-Musée National d’Art Moderne, on the occasion of the museum’s fiftieth anniversary, provides a majestic opening for the exhibition.
This work in cut-out gouached paper is part of the Matisse creations which were produced in a large format. It represents David entertaining King Saul with his music. At a culminating point of the painter’s art, The Sorrows of the King, produced in Nice in the last years of his life, at the Hotel Regina, near the museum, is both a synthesis of the work of Matisse and a perspective on Contemporary Art.
The exhibition allows you to follow, stage by stage, the relations between music, design and colour in a rich and harmonious ensemble of variations.
Matisse played the violin from personal choice, but also for unexpected reasons: “In Nice, in 1918 […] he began to study the violin very seriously, […] it was because I feared I might lose my sight and no longer be able to paint”.

Matisse found in music a rigorous method and a precise technique which corresponded to his way of working.
The preparatory drawing for the painting of the Violinist at the Window, produced 1917 during his first visit to Nice, a period of questioning for Matisse, represents his son Pierre, playing the violin, looking out at the infinite horizon of the sea, illustrating the feeling of search and escape which music offers. In 1918-1919, the painting Interior with a
Violin, uses the mystery represented by an empty, open violin case and a luminous blue, to suggest the infinite sources of inspiration generated by music.
Music has a place in the everyday life of the painter just as it has in his work. In 1917, at Issy-les-Moulineaux, Matisse painted his elder daughter, Marguerite, sitting at the piano with her brother Pierre in front of a piece by Haydn. Each of the painter’s children played a musical instrument: Marguerite the piano, Jean the cello and Pierre the violin.
From the 1920s, in Nice, Matisse depicted in certain paintings representing the interior of his studio-apartment in Place Charles-Félix elements related to music such as a gramophone or some violins. In this familiar environment, he painted musical sessions with his model Henriette playing the piano, alone in Little Pianist, Blue Dress, and surrounded by her brothers in Pianist and Checker Players, in1924. Some instruments, like the harmonium, become the central subject of a painting and are portrayed in the manner of a portrait. The shape and the aesthetic nature of musical instruments gives the painter the opportunity for new interpretations as in La Desserte of 1915 in the style of the copy of Dadidz de Heem, of 1893.
In numerous paintings, Matisse uses musical instruments as decorative elements accompanying the models and contributing to the curves and arabesques of the composition, as in The Moorish Screen, 1921-1922.
For Matisse, the movement of the musician is similar to that of the engraver or draughtsman.
“[…] Gouging, like bowing, is directly related to the sensitivity of the engraver”. Playing the violin requires discipline which for Matisse is related to the essential precision in the movements of the draughtsman.

[1This special relationship between Matisse and music develops into a path through the themes of: music and dance, line and melody, Jazz, Themes and Variations, music from elsewhere, the orchestration of the Chapel of Vence, the sound of colour, music and colour as a source of harmony.
This rich itinerary will be made up of works from museums such as MoMA in New York, the National Gallery in Washington, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Baltimore Museum of Art, the Musée National d’Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou, the Musée de l’Orangerie, the BnF in Paris, the Musée Matisse in Cateau-Cambrésis, the Emile Hugues Foundation in Vence, the Ballets of Monte Carlo, the Bibliothèque Musicale François-Lang, Asnières-sur-Oise, the Dominican Congregation of the Rosary in Vence, the Théodore Stravinsky Foundation of Geneva, as well as from private collections.


La Piscine

The exhibition progresses towards the monumental ceramic La Piscine, donated by Claude and Barbara Duthuit in 2011. In accordance with the wishes of his mother, Marguerite Duthuit, the daughter of Matisse, Claude Duthuit had La Piscine created in ceramic by ceramist Hans Spinner based on the composition in cut-out gouached paper of 1952, which had been preserved in the MoMA in New York. Matisse conceived La Piscine as a source of mental freshness. For many weeks, he moved the shapes of bodies in blue paper over a band of white paper hung on the walls. With La Piscine, the art of Matisse takes a new direction, moving from an ensemble of shapes and colours juxtaposed on a flat surface, to an environment, such as the Chapel in Vence of 1951.
Marie-Thérèse Pulvénis de Seligny

A word from the general curator

“I am a most enthusiastic supporter of the project of Marie-Thérèse Pulvénis de Seligny to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the Musée Matisse by presenting the exhibition “Matisse. Music at work”. Music is indeed one of the recurrent iconographic themes in the work of Henri Matisse. As for his musicality, it is for us to show in the exhibition its subtle manifestations. I would like to thank those who have agreed to support this wonderful project by loaning works, in particular the Centre Pompidou-Musée National d’Art Moderne which agreed, exceptionally, to loan The Sorrows of the King, a work in which I have always seen a sort of modern reflection of Domenichino’s King David Playing the Harp which hung in the bedroom of Louis XIV, a great king who, like David, loved music and knew that he was always a sinner, always repentant, always forgiven…”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Henri Matisse - La Piscine - Ceramic
height.: 2.30m; length left panel: 8.47m; length right panel: 7.96 m
Collection of the Musée Matisse, Nice - Donated by Claude and Barbara Duthuit, 2011.
© Estate of H. Matisse - Photo: Archives Henri Matisse

Practical Information

Musée Matisse

164, avenue des Arènes de Cimiez - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tel: (+33) (0)4 93 81 08 08
www.musee-matisse-nice.org
Every day from 10 am to 6 pm except Tuesdays, 1 January, Easter Sunday, 1 May, 25 December

Access: Bus n°15-17-20-22-25: stop Arènes/Musée Matisse

Activities @ Musée Matisse

Saturday 22 June, 7 pm:
Creation – representation: Matisse and music
Director: Michel Herrmann. Actor: Ariane Alban.
Auditorium level -2.

Wednesday 26 June, 3.30 pm :
Recital for flute and voice in homage to Henri Matisse
François Veilhan: Henri Matisse: line and harmony
Auditorium level -2.

Saturday 6 July, 7.30 pm - 8.30 pm :
Jazz Concert by the So What Company. Guest: Barre Philips
Exterior patio, level -2.

Thursday 18 July, 4 pm - 5 pm
Musical commentary on a work by Matisse: From painting to music and back again
Students in the final year of the Conservatoire National à Rayonnement Régional in Nice
Rooms from the permanent collection of the museum.

Wednesday 7 August, 9 pm – Cloisters of Cimiez Monastery
Under the aegis of the City of Nice, the Association of Friends of the Musée Matisse and the Nice International Summer Academy come together to create, within the context of the Nice 2013 event, A Summer for Matisse, an exceptional musical experience in the Cloisters of Cimiez Monastery.
Two major artistes, pianist David Kadouch and violinist Laurent Korcia, playing together for the first time, will evoke Matisse in music, that of his time, with Debussy, Ravel, Fauré and that which everyone feels when they look at the works of the painter. Emotion, intensity, movement and harmony will fill the summer air of the Cloisters at Cimiez just a few steps away from the paintings on show in the Musée Matisse.
Information/tickets on 0800 950 850 and online concerts.hexagone.net
Cloisters of Cimiez Monastery, Place Jean-Paul II - Nice
Espace Presse Contact

Musée Matisse
“Matisse. La musique à l’oeuvre”

Henri Matisse - La Tristesse du roi, 1952
Papiers gouachés découpés, 292 x 386 cm - © Succession H. Matisse
Photo : Centre Georges Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais

Le mot du commissaire général

“J’ai, avec enthousiasme, apporté mon soutien au projet de Marie-Thérèse Pulvénis de Seligny de marquer le cinquantenaire du Musée Matisse par la présentation de l’exposition “Matisse. La musique à l’oeuvre”. La musique est, en effet, l’un des thèmes iconographiques récurrent de l’oeuvre d’Henri Matisse. Quant à sa musicalité, c’est justement à l’exposition de nous en montrer les ressorts subtils. Je remercie les prêteurs qui ont accepté d’accompagner ce beau projet et plus particulièrement le Centre Pompidou-Musée National d’Art Moderne qui a consenti le prêt exceptionnel de la Tristesse du roi, oeuvre dans laquelle j’ai toujours vu une sorte de pendant moderne au Roi David jouant de la harpe du Dominiquin qui ornait la chambre de Louis XIV, grand roi qui, comme David, aimait la musique et savait qu’il était toujours pêcheur, toujours repentant, toujours pardonné…”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon

La présentation par le commissaire de l’exposition

À l’occasion de ses cinquante ans, le Musée Matisse présente l’exposition “Matisse.
La musique à l’oeuvre”, dont le thème parcourt l’art de Matisse et se trouve lié à sa présence à Nice. Aussi donne-t-il la possibilité de rendre hommage à la famille du peintre qui a permis, par des donations successives, la création du musée en 1963.
“Certes la musique et la couleur n’ont rien de commun, mais elles suivent des voies parallèles”. Notes et couleurs relèvent d’une même recherche d’expression. Matisse fait référence à la musique pour évoquer ses compositions, thèmes, rythmes, variations, harmonie de couleurs.
Le parcours de l’exposition s’organise en deux parties :
- le silence de la musique rappelle le lien intime qui unit Matisse à la musique et les différentes représentations qu’il en donne dans son oeuvre ;
- la sonorité de la couleur illustre les correspondances que le peintre ressent entre la couleur et le son.
Le prêt prestigieux de la Tristesse du roi (1952) accordé exceptionnellement par le Centre Pompidou-Musée National d’Art Moderne, à l’occasion des cinquante ans du musée, ouvre majestueusement l’exposition.
Cette oeuvre en papiers gouachés découpés, fait partie des créations de Matisse réalisées en grands formats. Elle représente David divertissant de sa musique le roi Saül. Aboutissement de l’art du peintre, la Tristesse du roi, réalisée à Nice dans les dernières années de sa vie, au Régina, proche du musée, est à la fois synthèse des recherches de Matisse et perspective pour l’Art Contemporain.
L’exposition permet de suivre, étape par étape, les relations entre la musique, le dessin, la couleur dans un ensemble harmonieux et riche de variations.
Matisse pratique le violon par goût personnel, mais aussi pour des raisons inattendues : “À Nice, en 1918 […] il se mit à étudier très sérieusement le violon, […] c’est que je crains de perdre la vue et de ne plus pouvoir peindre”.

Matisse trouve dans la musique une méthode rigoureuse et une technique précise qui correspondent à sa manière de travailler.
Le dessin préparatoire de la peinture le Violoniste à la fenêtre, réalisée en 1917 lors de son premier séjour à Nice, période d’interrogation pour Matisse, représente son fils Pierre, jouant du violon face à l’horizon infini de la mer, illustrant le sentiment de recherche et d’évasion qu’offre la musique. En 1918-1919, la peinture Intérieur au violon , par le mystère de la représentation d’un étui à violon ouvert et vide, d’un bleu lumineux, suggère les sources infinies d’inspiration engendrées par la musique.
La musique prend place dans la vie du peintre comme dans son oeuvre. En 1917, à Issy-les-Moulineaux, Matisse peint sa fille aînée, Marguerite, assise au piano avec son frère Pierre devant une partition de Haydn . Chacun des enfants du peintre pratique la musique : Marguerite joue du piano, Jean du violoncelle, Pierre du violon.
À partir des années 1920, à Nice, Matisse fait figurer dans certaines peintures représentant l’intérieur de son appartement-atelier place Charles-Félix des éléments liés à la musique, comme un phonographe, des violons. Dans cet environnement familier, il peint des séances de musique avec son modèle Henriette qui joue du piano, seule dans Petite pianiste, robe bleue, et entourée de ses frères dans Pianiste et joueurs de dames, en 1924. Certains instruments, comme l’harmonium, deviennent le sujet central d’une peinture et sont traités à la manière d’un portrait. La forme et l’esthétisme des instruments de musique donnent au peintre l’occasion de nouvelles interprétations comme dans la Desserte de 1915 d’après la copie de Dadidz de Heem, de 1893.
Dans de nombreuses peintures, Matisse utilise les instruments de musique comme éléments décoratifs accompagnant les modèles et participant aux courbes et arabesques de la composition, comme dans le Paravent mauresque, 1921-1922 .
Pour Matisse, le geste du musicien s’apparente à celui du graveur et du dessinateur.
“[…] La gouge, comme l’archet, est directement en rapport avec la sensibilité du graveur”. La pratique du violon nécessite une discipline qui s’apparente pour Matisse à l’indispensable précision du geste du dessinateur.

Cette relation particulière de Matisse avec la musique se développe dans un parcours abordant les thèmes : musique et danse, ligne et mélodie, Jazz, Thèmes et Variations, musiques d’ailleurs, orchestration de la chapelle de Vence, la sonorité de la couleur, musique et couleur comme source d’harmonie.
Ce riche parcours sera constitué d’oeuvres provenant de musées, tels que le MoMA de New York, la National Gallery de Washington, le Philadelphia Museum of Art, le Baltimore Museum of Art, le Musée National d’Art Moderne, le Centre Pompidou, le Musée de l’Orangerie, la BnF de Paris, le Musée Matisse du Cateau-Cambrésis, la Fondation Emile Hugues de Vence, les Ballets de Monte Carlo, la Bibliothèque Musicale François-Lang, Asnières-sur-Oise, la Congrégation des Dominicaines du Rosaire de Vence, la Fondation Théodore Strawinsky de Genève, ainsi que de collections particulières.


La Piscine

Cette progression conduit à la présentation de la nouvelle donation de la céramique La Piscine, par Claude et Barbara Duthuit en 2011. Conformément au souhait de sa mère, Marguerite Duthuit, fille de Matisse, Claude Duthuit fait réaliser La Piscine en céramique, par le céramiste Hans Spinner à partir de la composition en papiers gouachés découpés de 1952, conservée au MoMA de New York. Matisse conçoit La Piscine comme une source de fraîcheur mentale. Pendant de longues semaines, il déplace les formes des corps en papiers bleus sur une bande de papier blanc accrochée aux murs. Avec La Piscine, l’art de Matisse prend une nouvelle direction, passant d’un ensemble de formes et couleurs juxtaposées sur une surface plane, à un environnement, comme la Chapelle de Vence de 1951.
Marie-Thérèse Pulvénis de Seligny



Henri MATISSE - Petite Pianiste, robe bleue, 1924
Huile sur toile, 22 x 29,8 cm
Musée Matisse, Nice
Legs de Mme Henri Matisse, 1960
(Inv. 63.2.18)
© Succession H. Matisse
Photo : Ville de Nice

Le mot du commissaire général

“J’ai, avec enthousiasme, apporté mon soutien au projet de Marie-Thérèse Pulvénis de Seligny de marquer le cinquantenaire du Musée Matisse par la présentation de l’exposition “Matisse. La musique à l’oeuvre”. La musique est, en effet, l’un des thèmes iconographiques récurrent de l’oeuvre d’Henri Matisse. Quant à sa musicalité, c’est justement à l’exposition de nous en montrer les ressorts subtils. Je remercie les prêteurs qui ont accepté d’accompagner ce beau projet et plus particulièrement le Centre Pompidou-Musée National d’Art Moderne qui a consenti le prêt exceptionnel de la Tristesse du roi, oeuvre dans laquelle j’ai toujours vu une sorte de pendant moderne au Roi David jouant de la harpe du Dominiquin qui ornait la chambre de Louis XIV, grand roi qui, comme David, aimait la musique et savait qu’il était toujours pêcheur, toujours repentant, toujours pardonné…”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Henri Matisse - La Piscine - Céramique
haut. : 2,30 m ; long. panneau gauche : 8,47 m ; long. panneau droit : 7,96 m
Collection Musée Matisse, Nice - Don de Claude et Barbara Duthuit, 2011.
© Succession H. Matisse - Photo : Archives Henri Matisse



Henri MATISSE - La Musique (esquisse), 1907
Huile et fusain sur toile, 73,4 × 60,8 cm
The Museum of Modern Art, New York.
Gift of A. Conger Goodyear in honor of Alfred Barr Jr., 1962
(Inv. 78.1962)
© Succession H. Matisse
Photo : The Museum of Modern Art, New York/Scala, Florence

Informations Pratiques

Musée Matisse

164, avenue des Arènes de Cimiez - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tél : (+33) (0)4 93 81 08 08
www.musee-matisse-nice.org

Tous les jours de 10h à 18h sauf le mardi, le 1er janvier, le dimanche de Pâques, le 1er mai, le 25 décembre

Accès : Bus n°15-17-20-22-25 : arrêt Arènes/Musée Matisse

Activités @ Musée Matisse

Vendredi 28 juin, 16 h :
Lecture et illustration musicale : MATISSE prélude, choral & variations en BLEU majeur
Réalisateur : Michel Herrmann. Comédienne : Ariane Alban.
Auditorium niveau -2. Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles.

Samedi 6 juillet, 19h30 - 20h30 :
Concert de Jazz de la Compagnie So What. Guest : Barre Philips
Patio extérieur, niveau -2.

Mercredi 7 août, 21h – Cloître du Monastère de Cimiez
Sous l’égide de la Ville de Nice, l’Association des Amis du Musée Matisse et l’Académie Internationale d’Eté de Nice s’associent pour créer, dans le cadre de l’événement Nice 2013. Un été pour Matisse un moment musical d’exception au Cloître du Monastère de Cimiez.
Deux grands artistes, le pianiste David Kadouch et le violoniste Laurent Korcia, pour leur première rencontre artistique, vont évoquer Matisse en musique, celle de son temps avec Debussy, Ravel, Fauré et celle que chacun ressent devant les oeuvres du peintre. Emotion, intensité, mouvement, harmonie vibreront dans l’air d’été du Cloître de Cimiez à quelques pas des tableaux exposés dans le Musée Matisse.
Renseignements / location au 0800 950 850 et en ligne concerts.hexagone.net
Cloître du Monastère de Cimiez, place Jean-Paul II - Nice
Espace Presse Contact