Musée des Beaux Arts
Exhibition “Gustave Moreau, Matisse’s Master”

Gustave MOREAU
The Unicorns,
© RMN - R.G. Ojeda

A word from the general curator

“How could we help but wish, on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of the Musée Matisse, to evoke at the Musée des Beaux-Arts, so rich in works by Gustave Adolphe Mossa, that symbolist from Nice, the figure of Gustave Moreau whose studio was frequented by Henri Matisse? That is how the idea for this exhibition was born. I am indebted to Marie-Cécile Forest, director of the Musée national Gustave Moreau, for agreeing to take it forward together with Anne Stilz. She therefore gave her blessing to a real “extramural” activity for the Musée national Gustave Moreau, in Nice. The visitor will be invited to discover in the work of Gustave Moreau some of the premises of the work of Henri Matisse who was his pupil but did not limit himself to being a mere disciple.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon

A presentation by the exhibition curator

The Musée des Beaux-Arts pays homage to the painter Gustave Moreau with an examination of his work from the point of view of his pupil Henri Matisse, who entered his studio at the École des Beaux Arts in 1893.
This studio was a real hothouse, a research laboratory for artists who participated to a varying degree in the adventure of pictorial modernity in the twentieth century and particularly in its first controversy which erupted at the 1905 Salon d’Automne. Matisse could be found in the centre of Room 5 amongst those new dissidents, known as the “Fauve” painters! It is still topical today to wonder about the nature of the teaching dispensed by Moreau. Indeed, how could this father of Pictorial Symbolism, a movement hostile to “Progress” as promoted by Auguste Comte, capture the interest of those young students, avid for creative freedom? The Master’s teaching method consisted in first having his pupils discover the techniques of earlier painters - Poussin, Raphaël, Ingres - who he invited them to observe in the Musée du Louvre. In addition, Moreau willingly allowed them to discover for themselves by stimulating their imagination on the basis of two essential elements in painting: colour and drawing. Moreau’s remarks were often very poetic and evocative: “colour must be dreamed, thought, imagined …” or “to evoke thought by lines, arabesques and visual means, that is my aim 1.” The Master did not impose any method or rigidity.
He would willingly have taken as his motto Nietzsche’s famous saying “Become who you are”.
The arrangement of the exhibition is therefore divided into three sections. After retaining the essential values communicated by Moreau in his studio, we arrive in a second room reserved for the treatment of drawing. The painter used this technique to practise ornamentation to a sometimes extravagant degree. In some cases one can detect the beginnings of Art Nouveau, so elegantly does the sinuous arabesque glide over the surface of the work. Elsewhere, Moreau synthesises and refines to the extreme and continues to surprise. We understand what Matisse retained and gradually appropriated to create a whole decorative register
originating in the Orient which he undoubtedly subjected to concision and purification in his turn. Did Moreau not himself predict: “you are going to simplify painting?” Another room is devoted to the treatment of colour. A large number of original paintings, generously loaned by the Musée National Gustave Moreau, enable the viewer to follow the path which led Moreau from the use of a thick, rich and intoxicating colour to a total liberation from shade and nuance the point of dissociating them from his subject. Colour creates an opening, a window of light, a prism into a pictorial Beyond.
Moreau sang the praises of colour and drawing like a devotee expresses his faith! Placing his spiritual motivations above aesthetics, he stated: “… I am less concerned with expressing these words of the soul (…) than with rendering visible, so to speak, the inner flashes of intuition (…) which have something divine in their apparent insignificance and which, transposed by the marvellous effects of pure visual art, reveal truly magical, I would say even sublime, horizons.” Moreau thus pursued an absolute quest which it is tempting to rediscover in Matisse as a search for the Golden Age, visible in his early works: Luxury, Calm and Pleasure (1904) or La Joie de vivre (1905).
This state of harmony that Matisse wished to place at the heart of his artistic approach found its full resonance in his testamentary work in the Dominican Chapel of the Rosary at Vence. Shifting gradually by means of the purification of catharsis, using the technique of cut-out gouached papers, Matisse also reached the sublime aim of spirituality in Art.
To some extent Moreau and Matisse continued to affirm the line by Mallarmé “… let the window be the art, the mystical experience”. The aim of this exhibition is therefore not to compare or to assert a strictly formal justification of the work of the two artists. Matisse spoke highly of Moreau’s personality and Moreau supported Matisse by recognising his avant-garde qualities, but this demonstration is not restricted to enumerating causes and effects. It is rather about seeing the works of Moreau as Matisse himself might have discovered them. To look through the eyes of Matisse to perceive the real modernity in the language of Moreau and to sense the liberating qualities emanating from this. The ultimate cause served by Moreau was a form of transcendence of art which he named on several occasions “thought”, “pure visual art”, even “abstraction”!
This exhibition offers a genuine pathway through the thoughts of Moreau that the Master of La Danse might himself have followed. The exhibition rewrites the history of Matisse in the direction of Moreau, “against the grain” as Huysmans, great admirer of the master of L’Apparition or Salomé and author of the novel of the same name 2, might have said. He also described Matisse as “this mystic isolated in the heart of Paris”. This analysis will be offered during the presentation of nearly sixty pieces, exclusively from the Musée national Gustave Moreau.
Anne Devroye-Stilz

A word from the general curator

“How could we help but wish, on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of the Musée Matisse, to evoke at the Musée des Beaux-Arts, so rich in works by Gustave Adolphe Mossa, that symbolist from Nice, the figure of Gustave Moreau whose studio was frequented by Henri Matisse? That is how the idea for this exhibition was born. I am indebted to Marie-Cécile Forest, director of the Musée national Gustave Moreau, for agreeing to take it forward together with Anne Stilz. She therefore gave her blessing to a real “extramural” activity for the Musée national Gustave Moreau, in Nice. The visitor will be invited to discover in the work of Gustave Moreau some of the premises of the work of Henri Matisse who was his pupil but did not limit himself to being a mere disciple.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Gustave MOREAU
Salome tattooed, Gustave Moreau
© RMN - R.G. Ojeda



Gustave MOREAU
Persian Poet
© RMN - R.G. Ojeda

Practical Information

Musée des Beaux Arts

33, avenue des Baumettes - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tel: (+33) (0)4 92 15 28 28
www.musee-beaux-arts-nice.org
- Every day from 10 am to 6 pm except Mondays, 1 January, Easter Sunday, 1 May, 25 December
- North access: 33, Avenue des Baumettes & South Access: 144, rue de France
Bus n°3-8-9-10-12-22-23: stop Grosso, Rosa Bonheur-Navette 38: stop Chéret

Activities @ Musée des Beaux Arts

Thursday 12 September, 5 pm
Lecture: “Gustave Moreau – Gustav Adolf Mossa”
Anne Devroye-Stilz, curator of the Musée des Beaux-Arts and of the Musée d’art naïf
A. Jakovsky

Thursday 19 September, 5 pm
Lecture: “Henri Matisse and the Tribal Arts”
Anne Devroye-Stilz, curator of the Musée des Beaux-Arts and of the Musée d’art naïf
A. Jakovsky
Espace Presse Contact

Musée des Beaux Arts
Exposition “Gustave Moreau, maître de Matisse”

Gustave MOREAU
Les licornes,
© RMN - R.G. Ojeda

Le mot du commissaire général

“Comment ne pas souhaiter, à l’occasion du cinquantenaire du Musée Matisse, évoquer au Musée des Beaux-Arts, si riche en oeuvres de Gustave Adolphe Mossa, ce symboliste niçois, la figure de Gustave Moreau dont Henri Matisse fréquenta l’atelier ? C’est ainsi qu’est né le projet de cette exposition. Je sais gré à Marie-Cécile Forest, directrice du Musée national Gustave Moreau, d’avoir bien voulu s’y engager avec Anne Stilz. Elle a ainsi consenti à un véritable “hors-les-murs” du Musée national Gustave Moreau, à Nice. Le visiteur sera invité à déceler face à l’oeuvre de Gustave Moreau quelques uns des prémisses de l’oeuvre d’Henri Matisse qui fut son élève sans se contenter d’en être le simple disciple.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon

La présentation par le commissaire de l’exposition

Le Musée des Beaux-Arts propose de rendre hommage au peintre Gustave Moreau en abordant son oeuvre sous l’angle de vue de son élève Henri Matisse, entré dans son atelier de l’Ecole des Beaux Arts en 1893.
Cet atelier fut un véritable laboratoire de recherches, une pépinière d’artistes qui ont participé à des degrés divers à l’aventure de la modernité picturale du XXe siècle et notamment à son premier scandale livré au Salon d’Automne en 1905. On pouvait retrouver Matisse au coeur de la Salle 5 parmi ces nouveaux dissidents, surnommés les peintres “Fauves” ! Il est toujours autant d’actualité de s’interroger sur la nature de l’enseignement dispensé par Moreau. En effet, comment ce père du Symbolisme Pictural, mouvement hostile au “Progrès” tel qu’Auguste Comte l’a défendu, pouvait-il capter l’intérêt de ces jeunes étudiants, avides de liberté créative ? En fait, le discours du Maître devait consister tout d’abord à découvrir les techniques des Anciens : Poussin, Raphaël, Ingres, ceux qu’il invitait à observer au Musée du Louvre. En outre, Moreau pratiquait volontiers le “laisser faire” en sollicitant l’imagination à partir des deux données essentielles de la peinture : la couleur et le dessin. Les propos de Moreau étaient souvent très poétiques et évocateurs : “la couleur doit être rêvée, pensée, imaginée …” ou encore “l’évocation de la pensée par la ligne, l’arabesque et les moyens plastiques, voilà mon but 1.” Le Maître n’imposait ainsi aucune méthode, aucune rigidité.
Il aurait plutôt repris à son compte le célèbre “Deviens ce que tu es” de Nietzsche.
L’articulation de l’exposition sera donc ponctuée en trois temps. Après avoir retenu les valeurs essentielles communiquées par Moreau dans son atelier, on gagnera une deuxième salle réservée au traitement du dessin. Le peintre use de cette technique pour pratiquer l’ornementation parfois jusqu’à l’outrance. En certains cas, on peut être amené à déceler les prémices de l’Art Nouveau tant l’arabesque serpente avec finesse à la surface de l’oeuvre. Ailleurs, Moreau synthétise, épure à l’extrême et déjà il surprend. On comprend ce que Matisse a retenu pour s’approprier peu à peu tout un registre
décoratif issu de l’Orient auquel il fera sans doute subir l’épreuve de la concision et de la purification à son tour. Moreau ne lui avait-il pas prédit lui-même : “vous allez simplifier la peinture ?” Une autre salle est consacrée au traitement de la couleur. Un grand nombre de tableaux inédits, généreusement prêtés par le Musée National Gustave Moreau permet de parcourir tout un cheminement qui a conduit Moreau depuis le traitement d’une couleur épaisse, riche, capiteuse jusqu’à la libération totale de la teinte et de la nuance au point de les dissocier de son sujet. La couleur crée une ouverture, une fenêtre de lumière, un prisme vers un au-delà pictural.
Moreau chante les louanges de la couleur et du dessin comme un dévot exprime sa foi ! Plaçant ses motivations spirituelles au-delà de l’esthétique, il annonce : “… je suis moins porté à exprimer ces mots de l’âme (…) qu’à rendre pour ainsi dire visibles les éclairs intérieurs (…) qui ont quelque chose de divin dans leur apparente insignifiance et qui, traduits par les merveilleux effets de la pure plastique, ouvrent des horizons vraiment magiques et je dirai même sublimes.” Moreau accède donc à une quête d’absolu qu’il est tentant de redécouvrir chez Matisse comme une recherche de l’Âge d’Or, sensible depuis ses oeuvres de jeunesse : Luxe, calme et volupté (1904) ou La Joie de vivre (1905).
Cet état d’harmonie que Matisse a voulu placer au coeur de sa démarche artistique a trouvé toute sa résonnance dans son oeuvre testamentaire de la décoration de la chapelle du Rosaire des dominicaines de Vence. Passant progressivement par l’épreuve de la catharsis, de l’épure, grâce à la technique des papiers gouachés découpés, Matisse a atteint lui aussi, le sublime, la spiritualité dans l’Art.
D’une certaine manière Moreau et Matisse n’ont eu de cesse de confirmer cette sentence de Mallarmé “… que la vitre soit l’art, la mysticité”. Ainsi le propos de cette exposition n’est pas de faire une confrontation ni de soumettre une justification d’ordre strictement formelle entre les deux artistes. Matisse a loué la personnalité de Moreau - ce dernier a soutenu Matisse en reconnaissant ses qualités avant-gardistes, mais cette démonstration ne s’arrête pas à énumérer les relations de causes à effets. Il s’agit plutôt de regarder les oeuvres de Moreau comme Matisse lui-même aurait pu les découvrir. Entrer dans le globe oculaire de Matisse pour percevoir la vraie part de modernité du langage de Moreau et ressentir la part libératoire qui s’en dégage. La cause ultime servie par Moreau est une forme de transcendance de l’art qu’il nomme à plusieurs reprises comme “la pensée”, “la pure plastique”, “l’abstraction” même !
Le parcours de cette manifestation offre donc un véritable cheminement dans la pensée de Moreau tel que le Maître de la Danse aurait pu le faire lui-même. C’est donc en refaisant l’histoire de Matisse vers Moreau, “à rebours” comme aurait dit Huysmans, auteur du roman du même nom 2 et grand admirateur du maître de l’Apparition ou de Salomé. D’ailleurs il disait déjà de lui “qu’il était ce mystique isolé en plein Paris”. Cette analyse sera proposée au cours de la présentation de près d’une soixantaine de pièces, en provenance exclusive du Musée national Gustave Moreau.
Anne Devroye-Stilz

Le mot du commissaire général

“Comment ne pas souhaiter, à l’occasion du cinquantenaire du Musée Matisse, évoquer au Musée des Beaux-Arts, si riche en oeuvres de Gustave Adolphe Mossa, ce symboliste niçois, la figure de Gustave Moreau dont Henri Matisse fréquenta l’atelier ? C’est ainsi qu’est né le projet de cette exposition. Je sais gré à Marie-Cécile Forest, directrice du Musée national Gustave Moreau, d’avoir bien voulu s’y engager avec Anne Stilz. Elle a ainsi consenti à un véritable “hors-les-murs” du Musée national Gustave Moreau, à Nice. Le visiteur sera invité à déceler face à l’oeuvre de Gustave Moreau quelques uns des prémisses de l’oeuvre d’Henri Matisse qui fut son élève sans se contenter d’en être le simple disciple.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Gustave MOREAU
Salome tatouee, Gustave Moreau
© RMN - R.G. Ojeda



Gustave MOREAU
Poete persan
© RMN - R.G. Ojeda

Informations Pratiques

Musée des Beaux Arts

33, avenue des Baumettes - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tél : (+33) (0)4 92 15 28 28
www.musee-beaux-arts-nice.org

- Tous les jours de 10h à 18h sauf le lundi, le 1er janvier, le dimanche de Pâques, le 1er mai, le 25 décembre
- Accès nord : 33, Avenue des Baumettes & Accès Sud : 144, rue de France
Bus n°3-8-9-10-12-22-23 : arrêt Grosso, Rosa Bonheur-Navette 38 : arrêt Chéret

Activités @ Musée des Beaux Arts

Jeudi 12 septembre, 17h
Conférence : “Gustave Moreau – Gustav Adolf Mossa”
Anne Devroye-Stilz, conservateur du Musée des Beaux-Arts et du Musée d’art naïf
A. Jakovsky

Jeudi 19 septembre, 17h
Conférence : “Henri Matisse et les Arts premiers”
Anne Devroye-Stilz, conservateur du Musée des Beaux-Arts et du Musée d’art naïf
A. Jakovsky
Espace Presse Contact