Théâtre de la photographie et de l'image
Exhibition “Women, muses and models (Encounters between the collection of Amedeo M. Turello and the work of Matisse)”

Gertrude Käsebier - Portrait (Miss N.), 1903 - 14,8 x 19,7 cm
Vintage photo-engraving
© Collection of Amedeo M. Turello

A word from the general curator

“For four years, Marie-France Bouhours has passionately brought to life “the” place for photography in the City of Nice, the Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image.
The most diverse experiences of photography, those of yesterday and of today, all meet there in an intelligent fashion. I was convinced by her suggestion of creating a meeting between the sculptures of Henri Matisse and the masterpieces of the representation of woman in the collection of Amedeo M. Turello, himself a fashion photographer. The visitor will be invited to reflect on the permanence of questions of art which artists ask themselves and to which they produce different answers, sometimes converging, according to the medium they choose, here sculpture and photography.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon

Presentation by the curator of the exhibition

Within the context of the events produced for the fiftieth anniversary of the Musée Matisse Nice 2013. A summer for Matisse, the Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image presents the exhibition “Women, muses and models (Encounters between the collection of Amedeo M. Turello and the work of Matisse)” from 21 June to 23 September 2013.
In relation to the work of Henri Matisse, the exhibition presents sculptures by the artist alongside some of the significant images from the collection of Amedeo M. Turello. It therefore brings together more than 140 original prints chosen from this rare collection, remarkable as much for the number of photographs it contains as for the theme which unites them.
Representations of woman, of every era and of all time, as both inspiration and model, natural or staged, which enable us, through these images, to reconstitute a whole tranche of the history of photography and the evolution of woman, her condition and her image, from pictorialism to today.
Every cliché exposed is a story in itself which embodies the true essence and soul of beauty, sometimes also described with contradictions and contrasts particular to each personality.
The whole exhibition brings together works by great masters and young photographers who all share the same vision: the classical beauty of the eternal muse, woman. The language and expression of the female form are celebrated, especially in a path through the exhibition which describes above all its aesthetic and narrative power.
Among the artists on show are the greatest names in photography: Edward Steichen, Cecil Beaton, Frantisek Drtitkol, André Kertesz, Bettina Rheims, Cindy Sherman, Edouard Boubat, Eikoh Hosoe, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Helmut Newton, Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Josef Sudek, Jeanloup Sieff, Robert Mapplethorpe ...
Amedeo M. Turello did not simply wish to bring together a series of “beautiful images”, but edited this collection with an evident analytical and refined eye, like a solid critical vision:
“This collection was designed to be shown, with its eclectic character marked as well as the ease of comprehension inherent in photographic technique, facilitating the interest of the general public. It is a fact that each acquisition has been achieved with the scrupulous intention of completing a particular vision, a state of mind or a period of history.
I imagined the work of Matisse beyond a simple iconographic analogy.
This is not in terms of similarity but towards deeper research, a real discourse between form and light.
I believe it will be very interesting for visitors to discover the links between photography and the figuration of Matisse, images with a strong, radical connection: the powerful contrasts of black and white which delineate the body of a woman, like a pencil outline of the shoulders and the lower body shown in great volume like in a paper collage, or else expressions becoming abstract as is seen in bronze sculptures…” Amedeo M. Turello.
Marie-France Bouhours



Edward J. Steichen - The little round mirror, 1906
14,1 x 21,4 cm - Vintage photo-engraving
© Collection of Amedeo M.Turello

A word from the general curator

“For four years, Marie-France Bouhours has passionately brought to life “the” place for photography in the City of Nice, the Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image.
The most diverse experiences of photography, those of yesterday and of today, all meet there in an intelligent fashion. I was convinced by her suggestion of creating a meeting between the sculptures of Henri Matisse and the masterpieces of the representation of woman in the collection of Amedeo M. Turello, himself a fashion photographer. The visitor will be invited to reflect on the permanence of questions of art which artists ask themselves and to which they produce different answers, sometimes converging, according to the medium they choose, here sculpture and photography.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Henri MATISSE - Ancient bust - Paris, 1900
Lost wax bronze. 62,2 cm - Sign. & num. HM 1/10 - Foundry: Valsuani, 1966
Musée d’Orsay, Paris - donated by Mme Jean Matisse, 1978 - In the stock of the Musée Matisse, Nice
Inv. D.78.1.25 - © Estate of H. Matisse
Photo: François Fernandez



Henri MATISSE - Seated nude, arm on the head - Paris, 1904
Lost wax bronze. 34,9 cm - Sign. HM & num. 9 - Foundry: Valsuani, 1951
Musée d’Orsay, Paris - donated by Mme Jean Matisse, 1978 - In the stock of the Musée Matisse, Nice
Inv. D.78.1.17 - © Estate of H. Matisse
Photo: François Fernandez

Practical Information

Théâtre de la Photographie et de l'image

27, boulevard Dubouchage - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tel: (+33) (0)4 97 13 42 20
www.tpi-nice.org
- Every day from 10 am to 6 pm except Mondays, 1 January, Easter Sunday, 1 May, 25 December
- Access: Bus n°4 - Tramway n° 1: stop Jean Médecin

Activities @ Théâtre de la Photographie et de l'image

Saturday 22 June, 2.30 pm :
Encounter with Amedeo M.Turello in the context of the exhibition “Women, muses
and models - Encounters between the collection of Amedeo M.Turello and the work of Matisse”
Espace Presse Contact

Théâtre de la photographie et de l'image
Exposition “Femmes, muses et modèles (Rencontres entre la collection Amedeo M. Turello et l’oeuvre de Matisse)”

Gertrude Käsebier - Portrait (Miss N.), 1903 - 14,8 x 19,7 cm
Vintage photogravure
© Collection Amedeo M.Turello

Le mot du commissaire général

“Depuis quatre années, Marie-France Bouhours anime avec passion le “lieu” de la photographie de la Ville de Nice, le Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image.
Les expériences les plus diverses de la photographie, celles d’hier et celle d’aujourd’hui, s’y croisent avec intelligence. J’ai été convaincu par sa proposition de provoquer la rencontre de sculptures d’Henri Matisse avec les chefs-d’oeuvre de la représentation de la femme dans la collection d’Amedeo M. Turello, lui-même photographe de mode. Le visiteur sera ainsi invité à réfléchir à la permanence des questions plastiques que se posent les artistes et auxquelles ils apportent des réponses différentes, parfois convergentes, selon le medium qu’ils convoquent, ici la sculpture et la photographie.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon

La présentation par le commissaire de l’exposition

Dans le cadre de l’ensemble des manifestations réalisées pour le cinquantième anniversaire du Musée Matisse Nice 2013. Un été pour Matisse, le Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image présente du 21 juin au 23 septembre 2013, l’exposition “Femmes, muses et modèles (Rencontres entre la collection d’Amedeo M. Turello et l’oeuvre de Matisse)”.
En relation avec l’oeuvre d’Henri Matisse, l’exposition met en parallèle des sculptures de l’artiste et une partie d’images majeures issues de la collection d’Amedeo M. Turello. Elle rassemble ainsi plus de 140 tirages originaux choisis parmi cet ensemble rare et remarquable tant par le nombre de photographies qu’il compte que par la thématique qui les rassemble.
Des représentations de la femme, de tout temps et de toute époque, à la fois inspiratrice et modèle, naturelle ou mise en scène, qui permettent, au travers de ces images, de reconstituer toute une frange de l’histoire de la photographie et de l’évolution de la femme, de sa condition et de son image, allant du pictorialisme à nos jours.
Chaque cliché exposé constitue une histoire en soi qui incarne l’essence vraie et l’âme de la beauté, parfois décrite aussi avec contradictions et contrastes propres à chaque personnalité.
L’ensemble réunit des oeuvres de grands maîtres et de jeunes photographes qui partagent tous une même vision : la beauté classique de la muse éternelle, la femme. Le langage et l’expression de la forme féminine y sont célébrés, notamment dans un parcours qui décrit avant tout son pouvoir esthétique et narratif.
Parmi les artistes présentés, on compte les plus grands noms de la photographie : Edward Steichen, Cecil Beaton, Frantisek Drtitkol, André Kertesz, Bettina Rheims, Cindy Sherman, Edouard Boubat, Eikoh Hosoe, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Helmut Newton, Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Josef Sudek, Jeanloup Sieff, Robert Mapplethorpe ...
Amedeo M. Turello n’a pas seulement souhaité rassembler une série de “belles images”, mais a édité cette collection en faisant preuve d’un oeil analytique et raffiné, comme d’une solide vision critique :
“Cette collection a été conçue pour être montrée, son caractère éclectique marqué ainsi que la facilité de compréhension, propre à la technique photographique, facilitant l’intérêt du grand public. Il est de fait que chaque acquisition a été réalisée avec l'intention scrupuleuse de compléter une vision particulière, un état d’âme ou une période historique.
J’ai imaginé le travail de Matisse au-delà d’une simple analogie iconographique.
Ceci, non en matière de similarité mais vers une recherche plus en profondeur, un réel discours entre la forme et la lumière.
Il me semble très intéressant pour les visiteurs de découvrir, les liens entre la photo et la figuration de Matisse, des images ayant une radicale et forte connexion : les puissants contrastes du blanc et du noir qui dessinent les corps d’une femme, comme un tracé de crayon les épaules et le bas du corps dessinant de grands volumes comme dans un collage papier, ou encore les expressions devenant abstraites comme on le voit dans les sculptures en bronze…” Amedeo M. Turello.
Marie-France Bouhours



Edward J. Steichen - The little round mirror, 1906
14,1 x 21,4 cm - Vintage photogravure
© Collection Amedeo M.Turello

Le mot du commissaire général

“Depuis quatre années, Marie-France Bouhours anime avec passion le “lieu” de la photographie de la Ville de Nice, le Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image.
Les expériences les plus diverses de la photographie, celles d’hier et celle d’aujourd’hui, s’y croisent avec intelligence. J’ai été convaincu par sa proposition de provoquer la rencontre de sculptures d’Henri Matisse avec les chefs-d’oeuvre de la représentation de la femme dans la collection d’Amedeo M. Turello, lui-même photographe de mode. Le visiteur sera ainsi invité à réfléchir à la permanence des questions plastiques que se posent les artistes et auxquelles ils apportent des réponses différentes, parfois convergentes, selon le medium qu’ils convoquent, ici la sculpture et la photographie.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Henri MATISSE - Buste ancien - Paris, 1900
Bronze à la cire perdue. 62,2 cm - Sign. & num. HM 1/10 - Fondeur : Valsuani, 1966
Musée d’Orsay, Paris - don de Mme Jean Matisse, 1978 - Dépôt au Musée Matisse, Nice
Inv. D.78.1.25 - © Succession H. Matisse
Photo : François Fernandez



Henri MATISSE - Nu assis, bras sur la tête - Paris, 1904
Bronze à la cire perdue. 34,9 cm - Sign. HM & num. 9 - Fondeur : Valsuani, 1951
Musée d’Orsay, Paris - don de Mme Jean Matisse, 1978 - Dépôt au Musée Matisse, Nice
Inv. D.78.1.17 - © Succession H. Matisse
Photo : François Fernandez

Informations Pratiques

Théâtre de la Photographie et de l'image

27, boulevard Dubouchage - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tél : (+33) (0)4 97 13 42 20
www.tpi-nice.org

- Tous les jours de 10h à 18h sauf le lundi, le 1er janvier, le dimanche de Pâques, le 1er mai, le 25 décembre
- Accès : Bus n°4 - Tramway n° 1 : arrêt Jean Médecin

Activités @ Théâtre de la Photographie et de l'image

Samedi 22 juin, 14h30 :
Rencontre avec Amedeo M.Turello dans le cadre de l’exposition “Femmes, muses
et modèles - Rencontres antre la collection Amedeo M.Turello et l’oeuvre de Matisse”
Espace Presse Contact