Musée d'Archéologie - Cimiez site
Exhibition “On swimming pools”

Amaury da Cunha, from the series After all, photography glued onto aluminium
Loaned by the artist
© Amaury da Cunha

A word from the general curator

“La Piscine by Matisse will be, from June 2013, presented to visitors to the Musée Matisse, located in the Villa des Arènes overlooking the site of Cimiez, the Cemenelum of Antiquity, near Nikaia, the ancient Greek origin of Nice. The Musée archéologique is situated on the site of the baths of ancient times with their swimming pools and on that of the paleo-Christian cathedral with its “spiritual pool”, the baptistery. It was this harmony which led me to support the project by Bertrand Roussel to design, in the Museum’s collections, a pathway presenting photographs and videos of contemporary artists interested in the theme of the swimming pool, water and the perception of bodies when they are immersed in water. He chose to enrich this pathway with ancient objects from the collections of his Museum which, by their decoration or function, lead us back to the theme of water.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Marie-Paule Nègre, from the Water level series, photography glued onto aluminium.
Loaned by the artist
© Marie-Paule Nègre


Presentation by the curator of the exhibition

The Musée d’archéologie de Nice, Cimiez site, is an on-site museum, set near the Roman baths where a group of paleo-Christian episcopal buildings were later constructed, including a cathedral and a baptistery. The theme of water is therefore omnipresent in this place, as much because of the vestiges of ancient swimming pools which suggest the effusion of pleasure in the hot springs as by the presence of the baptistery which emphasises spiritual delight.
In this year of 2013, the fiftieth anniversary of the creation of the Musée Matisse which is only a few dozen metres from the Musée d’archéologie, a new Matisse work, La Piscine, is going to be installed there.
These different circumstances have led the Musée d’archéologie to take part in the great cultural operation of Nice 2013. A Summer for Matisse, by presenting, together with its collections, works by contemporary artists who, like Matisse, explored the phenomena of the perception of bodies, their distortion and their movement in water, especially in that of swimming pools.
In order to emphasise these different relationships to the image of the body in the water, methods other than those of Matisse were required. This is why photography, video and cinema seemed essential and different artists were naturally invited.
The photographs of Franco Fontana, Edward Curtis, Lucien Clergue, Paul Louis, Lionel Bouffier, Michel François, or those of Amaury da Cunha enable us to access the variability of the view the artist may take of the “swimming pool” location
and its occupation by the human being, while the series by Marie-Paule Nègre or Catherine Larré tend to examine the fluidity, distortion and plasticity of bodies in the water. The video of the mythical nautical ballet Waterproof by Daniel Larrieu presents water as hypnotic, conceived as a space for dreaming where gravity loses its power over the body of the dancer to signify a connection with that element, without attempting to resist it. In her video Frontière : Bleu, blanc, rouge, Isabelle Lévénez presents us with the swimmer as an evanescent silhouette in order to better explore and examine the body conceived as a space to be discovered, whereas Suzanne Nessim and Teresa Wennberg offer a work on the sensations which the swimmer feels in the pool. Bill Viola, for his part, in his famous piece The Reflecting Pool, uses water and reflections magnificently to rethink notions of space and time as well as their perception. Finally, the cult images of the film by Jack Hazan devoted to David Hockney, A Bigger Splash, will implicitly provide a counterpoint to the swimming pool of Henri Matisse.
These numerous works are presented to view alongside archaeological objects related to water, from the museum’s collections, thus suggesting a two-way exchange between vestiges of Antiquity and the works of contemporary creators.
Bertrand Roussel

A word from the general curator

“La Piscine by Matisse will be, from June 2013, presented to visitors to the Musée Matisse, located in the Villa des Arènes overlooking the site of Cimiez, the Cemenelum of Antiquity, near Nikaia, the ancient Greek origin of Nice. The Musée archéologique is situated on the site of the baths of ancient times with their swimming pools and on that of the paleo-Christian cathedral with its “spiritual pool”, the baptistery. It was this harmony which led me to support the project by Bertrand Roussel to design, in the Museum’s collections, a pathway presenting photographs and videos of contemporary artists interested in the theme of the swimming pool, water and the perception of bodies when they are immersed in water. He chose to enrich this pathway with ancient objects from the collections of his Museum which, by their decoration or function, lead us back to the theme of water.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Catherine Larré, from the untitled series,
photograph glued onto aluminium.
Loaned by the artist
© Catherine Larré



Lionel Bouffier, Urbanité, 2009,
photograph glued onto aluminium
Loaned by the Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image
© Lionel Bouffier

Practical Information

Musée d'Archéologie - Cimiez Site

160, avenue des Arènes de Cimiez - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tel: (+33) (0)4 93 81 59 57
www.musee-archeologique-nice.org
- Every day from 10 am to 6 pm except Tuesdays, 1 January, Easter Sunday, 1 May, 25 December
- Access: Bus n°15-17-20-22-25: stop Arènes/Musée Matisse

Activities @ Musée d'Archéologie - Cimiez Site

Friday 21 June, 6.30 pm
Guided visit of the exhibition “On swimming pools” by Jean-Jacques Aillagon
and Bertrand Roussel, curators of the exhibition.

Saturday 20 July, 4 pm
Guided visit of the exhibition “On swimming pools” by Bertrand Roussel, curator
of the exhibition.

Saturday 17 August, 4 pm
Guided visit of the exhibition “On swimming pools” by Bertrand Roussel, curator
of the exhibition

Saturday 14 September, 4 pm
Guided visit of the exhibition “On swimming pools” by Bertrand Roussel, curator
of the exhibition
Espace Presse Contact

Musée d'Archéologie - Site de Cimiez
Exposition “À propos de piscines”

Amaury da Cunha, de la série Après tout, photographie contrecollée sur aluminium
Prêt de l’artiste
© Amaury da Cunha

Le mot du commissaire général

“La Piscine de Matisse sera, à partir de juin 2013, présentée au visiteur du Musée Matisse, installée dans la Villa des Arènes qui surplombe le site de Cimiez, l’antique Cemenelum, proche de Nikaia, la Nice de fondation grecque. Le Musée archéologique est planté sur le site de thermes antiques avec leurs piscines et celui de la cathédrale paléochrétienne avec sa “piscine spirituelle” qu’est le baptistère. C’est cette concordance qui m’a conduit à soutenir le projet de Bertrand Roussel de concevoir, dans les collections du Musée, un parcours présentant des photographies et des vidéos d’artistes contemporains s’étant intéressés au thème de la piscine, de l’eau et de la perception des corps quand ils y sont plongés. Il a choisi d’enrichir ce parcours d’objets antiques issus des collections de son Musée et renvoyant, par leur décor ou leur fonction, au même thème de l’eau.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Marie-Paule Nègre, de la série A fleur de l’eau, photographie contrecollée sur aluminium.
Prêt de l’artiste
© Marie-Paule Nègre


La présentation par le commissaire de l’exposition

Le Musée d’archéologie de Nice, site de Cimiez, est un Musée de site, installé à proximité de thermes romains où fut ensuite édifié un groupe épiscopal paléochrétien comportant une cathédrale et un baptistère. La thématique de l’eau est donc omniprésente dans ce lieu, tant par les vestiges des piscines antiques qui suggèrent l’effusion du plaisir dans les thermes, que par la présence du baptistaire qui souligne celle de l’esprit.
En cette année 2013, cinquantième anniversaire de la création du Musée Matisse qui se trouve à quelques dizaines de mètres à peine du Musée d’archéologie, une nouvelle oeuvre de Matisse, La Piscine, va y être implantée.
Ces différentes circonstances ont conduit le Musée d’archéologie à participer à la grande opération culturelle Nice 2013. Un été pour Matisse, en présentant, en lien avec ses collections, des oeuvres d’artistes contemporains qui ont, comme Matisse, exploré les phénomènes de la perception des corps, de leur déformation et de leur mouvement dans l’eau, notamment dans celle des piscines.
Afin de souligner ces différents rapports à l’image du corps dans l’eau, d’autres procédés que ceux de Matisse devaient être convoqués. C’est ainsi que la photographie, la vidéo et le cinéma sont apparus incontournables et que différents artistes ont été tout naturellement invités.
Les photographies de Franco Fontana, Edward Curtis, Lucien Clergue, Paul Louis, Lionel Bouffier, Michel François, ou celles d’Amaury da Cunha permettent d’accéder à la variabilité du regard que l’artiste peut poser sur le lieu “piscine”
et sur son occupation par l’être humain, alors que les séries de Marie-Paule Nègre ou Catherine Larré tendent à interroger la fluidité, la déformation et la plasticité des corps dans l’eau. La vidéo du mythique balai nautique Waterproof de Daniel Larrieu présente une eau hypnotique, conçue comme un espace de rêverie où la gravité perd son emprise sur le corps du danseur pour signifier une connexion avec cet élément, sans pour autant chercher à lui résister. Dans sa vidéo Frontière : Bleu, blanc, rouge, Isabelle Lévénez nous présente le baigneur comme une silhouette évanescente afin de mieux explorer et interroger le corps conçu comme un espace à découvrir, tandis que Suzanne Nessim et Teresa Wennberg proposent un travail sur les sensations que le nageur expérimente en piscine. Bill Viola, quant à lui, dans sa célèbre pièce The Reflecting Pool, utilise magistralement l’eau et le reflet pour repenser les notions d’espace et de temps ainsi que leur perception. Enfin, les images cultes du film de Jack Hazan consacré à David Hockney, A Bigger Splash, renverront en filigrane un contre-point à la piscine d’Henri Matisse.
Ces nombreuses oeuvres sont présentées en regard avec des objets archéologiques liés à l’eau, issus des collections du musée, proposant ainsi un allerretour entre les vestiges de l’Antiquité et les oeuvres de créateurs contemporains.
Bertrand Roussel

Le mot du commissaire général

“La Piscine de Matisse sera, à partir de juin 2013, présentée au visiteur du Musée Matisse, installée dans la Villa des Arènes qui surplombe le site de Cimiez, l’antique Cemenelum, proche de Nikaia, la Nice de fondation grecque. Le Musée archéologique est planté sur le site de thermes antiques avec leurs piscines et celui de la cathédrale paléochrétienne avec sa “piscine spirituelle” qu’est le baptistère. C’est cette concordance qui m’a conduit à soutenir le projet de Bertrand Roussel de concevoir, dans les collections du Musée, un parcours présentant des photographies et des vidéos d’artistes contemporains s’étant intéressés au thème de la piscine, de l’eau et de la perception des corps quand ils y sont plongés. Il a choisi d’enrichir ce parcours d’objets antiques issus des collections de son Musée et renvoyant, par leur décor ou leur fonction, au même thème de l’eau.”
Jean-Jacques Aillagon


Catherine Larré, de la série sans titre,
photographie contrecollée sur aluminium.
Prêt de l’artiste
© Catherine Larré



Lionel Bouffier, Urbanité, 2009,
photographie contrecollée sur aluminium
Prêt du Théâtre de la Photographie et de l’Image
© Lionel Bouffier

Informations Pratiques

Musée d'Archéologie - Site de Cimiez

160, avenue des Arènes de Cimiez - 06364 Nice cedex 4
Tél : (+33) (0)4 93 81 59 57
www.musee-archeologique-nice.org

- Tous les jours de 10h à 18h sauf le mardi, le 1er janvier, le dimanche de Pâques, le 1er mai, le 25 décembre
- Accès : Bus n°15-17-20-22-25 : arrêt Arènes/Musée Matisse

Activités @ Musée d'Archéologie - Site de Cimiez

Vendredi 21 juin, 18h30
Visite commentée de l’exposition “A propos de piscines” par Jean-Jacques Aillagon
et Bertrand Roussel, commissaires de l’exposition.

Samedi 20 juillet, 16h
Visite commentée de l’exposition “A propos de piscines” par Bertrand Roussel, commissaire
de l’exposition.

Samedi 17 août, 16h
Visite commentée de l’exposition “A propos de piscines” par Bertrand Roussel, commissaire
de l’exposition

Samedi 14 septembre, 16h
Visite commentée de l’exposition “A propos de piscines” par Bertrand Roussel, commissaire
de l’exposition
Espace Presse Contact